On to College

I have gotten through the first 4 days of college, and I can tell this is going to be somewhat different from the last year, where I did nothing. It seems to be to me that college is going to require reading, more reading and about nothing but reading. In particular my history class requires me to read 40 pages per day out of 3 books all written by somewhat psychotic people.

For those of you who do not know yet, I’m in college for a BS in CS. That’s a Bachelor of Science in Computer Science. I considered going for a Bachelor of Art in Computer Science, but then I realized that no human language is worth studying. I may still take the BA but that would be full semester worth of foreign language, and I really don’t care about what they offer for that here.

As for my Computer Science classes, I can tell this is going to rather pathetic. Most of my “peers” don’t say anything. Either they are to stupid to answer simple questions or they are remaining silent so the children might have a chance to answer. I, however, just can’t stand it when the teacher asks the same question more than once, and must deprive the children of the chance for critical thought by answering the questions myself. Also, it seems that many people are finding it a challenge to learn how to use the IDE, while I’m facing the challenge of relearning the API for the .NET Framework that I rejected 2 years ago for it’s lack of implementation.

Now I’m sure you are now bored to death so I’ll let you rest in peace.

~ by lunaticexperimentalist on August 28, 2005.

Leave a Reply

 
