About the “Anti-Counterfeiting Trade Agreement” proposal

A document titled "Anti-Counterfeiting Trade Agreement" has just come to my attention. I have never been any more infuriated since I read one particular document that suggested that the department of Homeland Security should have to report every instance of copyright infringement they find to the RIAA!

I feel as if I had just watched one of those NWO conspiracy videos. I hope that the many ambiguities in this proposal can be removed because the truth is that all things will be at sometime abused and I can only see an end to the "innovation and creativity" that this document claims to protect when this document becomes subject to abuse.
The overall spirit of the document is counter piracy. However, what is being ignored, and has been ignored since the founding of the RIAA, is that a person that intentionally attain a product illegally originally intended to not attain the product legally. That is to say that a person has proven that they can not be considered a potential source of revenue once they have proven to a pirate. It can be further stated that a pirate, in the purely intellectual property sence and only in the intellectual property sence, has technically done no harm as there has been no loss. That does not go to say that a pirate can not cause harm. e.g. Distributing faulty medical equipment(a fake copy of such equipment) will definitely cause harm, however that goes beyond piracy. In short, piracy itself, that is document suggests to place so much resource against, is little more than an annoyance.

There is one line that I, even as I am an IP rights holder, particularly do not like. It suggests that an institution be founded with the right to persue legal action against anyone it sees as having infringed on any IP right prior to and without the consent of the IP right holder. Can someone explain to me how any such institution is to know who is authorized to distribute any product without first consulting the rights holder?

I like the idea that my copyrights could be protected on a global scale. I don’t like anything else about this proposal.
This proposal needs to be rewritten! I don’t want anyone harassing my, or anyone else’s, customers!

~ by lunaticexperimentalist on May 25, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
